Minnesota Planning Awards

The Chapter's Planning Awards Program recognizes individuals, organizations and communities for outstanding contributions to planning in their area. Any Chapter member may nominate plans, projects, programs, individuals, or organizations to several categories.  The Awards Committee evaluates nominees based on originality and innovation, engagement, implementation and effectiveness, quality, and promotion of planning.

APA Minnesota 2021 Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

Kathryn Aanenson, City of Chanhassen

Outstanding Student Project


Robbie Seltzer, Student at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Success Stories in Implementation


  • Buhl Investors
  • The City of Edina
  • Edina Housing Foundation
  • Edina Housing & Redevelopment Authority
  • Saturday Properties
  • 50th & France Business Association

Innovation in Planning


City of St. Louis Park

Planning in Context


Breyonne Golding, City of Minneapolis

Runner Up for Planning in Context


  • Asakura Robinson
  • City of Minnetonka
  • Hennepin County

Excellence in Community Engagement


  • Forecast Public Art
  • 4RM + ULA
  • Bolton & Menk
  • Ramsey County

APA Minnesota 2019 Award Winners

Excellence in Community Engagement

Red Wing 2040 Community Plan

Innovation in Planning

Vision Zero and Pedestrian Crash Studies

Partnerships in Planning

The Artery Hopkins

City of Hopkins, Metropolitan Council, Hennepin County, Three Rivers Park District, Hopkins Center for the Arts, Hopkins Historical Society

Planning in Context

Envision Shakopee

District Director Award

Downtown & Riverfront Master Plan

Outstanding Student Project

Sidewalks in St. Louis Park: Understanding Resident Perceptions and Behaviors, Effects on Property Values and Accessibility

Austin Hauf, Erin Daly, Leoma Van Dort, Haley Sevening, and Alena Degrado

Lifetime Achievement Award

William C. Weber, AICP

Bill Weber's planning career spans 46-years and re­flects the criteria established for this award. His broad range of professional expertise includes land use, transportation, zoning, comprehensive plans, com­mercial and industrial redevelopment, downtowns, riverfronts, parks and bike systems, urban design guidelines, rail transit-oriented development, envi­ronmental impact documents and expert witness tes­timony. This expertise includes over two dozen com­prehensive plans in eight states, zoning ordinance amendments and rewrites for 17 cities, and code ad­ministration in Vadnais Heights for 19 years. 

Bill has been a member of APA and AICP since 1978. He has served on the Board of APA Minnesota and directed a state planning conference. He has men­tored students at the Humphrey Institute and through APA MN and is currently reviving the Chap­ter's Brown Bag Lunch professional development seminars. 

Peg & Otto Schmid Award

Corrin Hoegen Wendell, AICP

Corrin is passionate about giving back to the planning community and serves as Chair of the Executive Board for the Women & Planning Division of the American Planning Association (APA), various involvement in the APA Minnesota Chapter including member of the Wom­en in Planning Committee and an ex-officio member as the Youth Engagement Planning Coordinator. She also serves as an AICP (CPE) Certified Planning Exam Contrib­utor, APA National Planning Conference Session Pro­posal Reviewer, AICP Planning Accreditation Board. 

(PAB) Site Visitor, Peer Reviewer for the Journal of Plan­ning Education and Research, and a mentor to planning students and young professionals from Ohio State Uni­versity and APA.

Corrin is a Sector Representative and Senior Planner for the Metropolitan Council, which means that the last year has been hectic, tiring, and extremely busy; yet Corrin has excelled in her profession and dedicated numerous hours to advancing the planning profession outside of work. She is a member of APA Minnesota and the Chair of Women in Planning Division of the National APA.

Corrin is so dedicated to advancing the profession of planning and garnering a more diverse and informed workforce that she created her own non-profit: YEP! Youth Engagement Planning. YEP! Youth Engagement Planning held a successful interactive workshop at the 2018 National APA Conference in New Orleans with the Boys and Girls Clubs of Southeast Louisiana, introducing over 100 children in the area to urban planning. Corrin is inspiring the youth of today and giving back to communities.

Gunnar C. Isberg Scholarship Recipient

Oforiwaa Pee Agyei-Boakye

University of Minnesota
College of Liberal Arts
Pursuing a PhD in Transportation Geography

Gunnar C. Isberg Scholarship Recipient

Elliot Mohler

University of Minnesota
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Pursuing a Masters Urban and Regional Planning