The College of Fellows

Election to the AICP College of Fellows (FAICP) is one of the highest honors that the American Institute of Certified Planners, the professional institute of the American Planning Association, bestows upon a member.

Fellows of AICP are honored in recognition of their planning achievements as an individual, elevating the Fellow before the public and the profession as a model planner who has made significant contributions to planning and society. Fellowship is granted to planners who have been members of AICP and have achieved excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, public and community service, and leadership. Those chosen become members of the College of Fellows.

The College of Fellows is concerned with mentoring and future advancement of the profession of planning. As outstanding professionals in the field of planning, Fellows of AICP will address student organizations, state APA conferences, and professional development programs.

The following distinguished AICP members of the Chapter have made lasting contributions to the practice and profession of planning and have been inducted as members of the AICP College of Fellows:

Our FAICP Members


Barbara J. Dacy, FAICP

Barbara Dacy is a leader in planning, housing, and housing education with more than 40 years’ experience leading city and county community development agencies. Barbara initiated municipal and county housing policies leading to the preservation and construction of hundreds of units for seniors and families. She also led a successful effort on behalf of statewide housing agencies for a new state policy to finance affordable senior housing. Finally, Barbara’s leadership in a housing education non-profit has led to the creation of a new affordable housing leadership certificate program that will train future leaders in housing policy. 


Peter Hendee Brown, FAICP, FAIA, PHD

Peter Hendee Brown is a practitioner-academic who brings 35 years of project leadership experience in architecture, government, and development to his career in planning.  As a consultant, he led the implementation of eight, major urban public realm projects that have reshaped downtown Minneapolis.  As a researcher and writer, Peter has brought his unique perspective to two critically acclaimed books as well as book chapters and reviews on the subject of urban redevelopment.  And as an adjunct instructor at the University of Minnesota, Peter has educated and mentored a generation of planning students in urban design, development, and public realm planning.    


Carissa Slotterback, FAICP

Carissa Slotterback is an Associate Professor in Urban and Regional Planning and the Associate Dean of the Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. Building on early planning practice experiences in the public and private sectors, she has modeled deep engagement with practice throughout her academic career. Her teaching and mentoring prepare students for practice and network them in the field. She has studied planning practice to reveal innovations in public engagement, environmental planning, and sustainability. She has advanced institutional change via engagement in APA, ACSP, and through leadership positions in her university.


Richard Bolan, FAICP

Richard S. Bolan exemplifies the characteristics of committed and engaged teacher and mentor to planning students and a broader community of decision makers in Minnesota, Massachusetts, and Eastern Europe. At the same time, in his more than half-century career, he has made ongoing and meaningful contributions to planning research and theory with a particular focus on the evolving role of the planner. He also draws on a broad base of innovative planning practice experience with the Boston Redevelopment Authority and other planning organizations. Further, he has shown a sustained commitment to APA, AICP, and the broader scholarly and practitioner communities. Inducted in 2010.


Philip Wheeler, FAICP

Phil’s distinguished career is characterized by a continual pursuit of innovation. His work with the Rochester Olmsted County Planning Department on growth management, GIS, and environmental protection pushed the boundaries of current practice, responded to critical challenges in his community, and has directly informed other communities. He has worked diligently to address key social and equity concerns, generating valuable data to assess these issues along with typical planning topics, advancing community-wide inclusionary policies, and partnering with advocacy organizations to address critical needs. He has contributed to peer-reviewed articles and has won awards for community service, GIS, and community needs assessment. Inducted 2014.


Weiming Lu, FAICP

Weiming Lu, an internationally recognized urban planner and designer, is making a significant difference to planning and international understanding. A known expert in blending old and new design, his planning positions included Minneapolis, Dallas, St. Paul, and as an advisor on numerous public and private projects. Since the first Department of State and APA mission to the Republic of China in 1979, he has worked to improve relations between China and the United States. Currently, Lu is an international planning advisor to mayors, a trustee of the Minneapolis Foundation, an accomplished artist, and a member of the Committee of 100. Inducted in 2010.


John Shardlow, FAICP

In a career spanning 31 years and grounded in service to more than 100 communities, John Shardlow is admired and respected for his contributions to some of the most important planning issues in the Twin Cities and throughout Minnesota. With his involvement in regional land use plans, redevelopment projects, main street revitalizations, and high-profile environmental and conservation projects, John has guided sustainable planning practices throughout the state. A revered teacher, mentor, and leader, he takes great pride in developing professional and citizen planners through his work within ULI, SLUC, and GTS, further demonstrating his dedication to the future of planning. Inducted 2010.